top of page


Awards & Recognition

Dr. Seung Hwan (Mark) Lee's remarkable career is marked by a multitude of awards and accomplishments spanning teaching, research, and contributions to academia. Notably, he received the prestigious Axcess-Capon Distinguished Teaching Award from the Society of Marketing Advances, recognizing his exceptional teaching prowess. Further, his sustained commitment to teaching excellence earned him the Chancellor's Award of Distinction from Toronto Metropolitan University in 2022. He has consistently been acknowledged for his research contributions, receiving awards such as the ASAC Best Paper Award and Best Track Paper awards from the American Collegiate Retailing Association. Dr. Lee has also excelled in the field of marketing education, with accolades like the Journal of Advancement for Marketing Education (JAME) and Marketing Education Review (MER) Article of the Year Awards. He was also named the MER Best Reviewer of the Year in 2015. His extensive list of awards underscores his dedication to both teaching, research, and service within the academic community.

Notable Teaching Awards:
Chancellor's Award of Distinction (2023) - Toronto Metropolitan University

The Toronto Metropolitan Chancellor’s Award of Distinction is conferred on an educator recognized within the Toronto Metropolitan University community as an exemplary model of life-long career commitment to teaching and learning as evidenced by significant contributions over time to advancing teaching and learning at Toronto Metropolitan University, by sustained educational leadership and by an outstanding and sustained record of teaching excellence.

Axcess-Capon Distinguished Teaching Award (2019) - Society of Marketing Advances

Recipient of the prestigious 2019 Axcess-Capon Distinguished Teaching Award by Society of Marketing Advances. Only the second Canadian to achieve this honour. This award recognizes the long-standing pedagogical contribution to the field of marketing.

Outstanding Graduate Education Award (2020) - Toronto Metropolitan University

The Yeates School of Graduate Studies (YSGS) Outstanding Contribution to Graduate Education Award recognizes faculty excellence in the complex process of mentoring graduate students to prepare them for productive careers.

University Best Teacher Award (2013) - Colorado State University

The CSU Alumni Association recognized outstanding Colorado State educators each year with Best Teacher Awards. The teachers are nominated by students and alumni and are selected by a committee comprised of faculty, students, and members of the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

USC Award of Excellence in Teaching (2011) - Western University

This award is co-presented by the University Student’s Council. Annually, four awards are selected by a committee comprised of students and alumni to recognize, celebrate and award excellence in undergraduate teaching. This award is university-wide and is one of the most prestigious teaching awards within the university.

Research Awards & Recognitions:
*Ivey Publishing Best Seller Award (2023) - Ivey Publishing
*Best Track Paper: Ethics, CSR, and Sustainability (2022) - American Coll. Retailing Association
*Best Track Paper: Digitalization in Retailing (2022) - American Coll. Retailing Association
*IJRDM Best Conference Paper Award (2021) - American Coll. Retailing Association
*Best Pedagogy Paper Award (2020) - American Coll. Retailing Association
*Ivey Publishing Best Seller Award (2020) - Ivey Publishing
*Best Collab. Paper Award: Runner-up (2019) - American Coll. Retailing Association
*Dean's SRC (Research) Award (2018) - Toronto Metropolitan University [TRSM]
*TRSM Research Recognition Award: Retail (2017) - Toronto Metropolitan University [TRSM]
*EAERCD Best Conference Paper (2017) - European Association for Education & Research
*ASAC Best Paper Award: Sports & Tourism (2017) - Admin. Sciences Association of Canada
*JAME Article of the Year Award (2016) - Journal of Advancement for Marketing Education
*MER Article of the Year Award (2014) - Marketing Education Review
*Dean's Scholar (2012, 2013, 2014) - Colorado State University
*ASAC Best Paper Award: Marketing (2010) - Admin. Sciences Association of Canada
*ASAC Honorable Mention Award (2008) - Admin. Sciences Association of Canada
Service-Based Awards & Recognitions:
*Editorial Board Super Reviewer (2021) - Marketing Education Review
*Provost's Academic Leadership Fellow (2017) - Toronto Metropolitan University
*Best Reviewer of the Year Award (2015) - Marketing Education Review
*Haring Symposium Fellow (2011) - Indiana University
*AMA-SHETH Doctoral Consortium Fellow (2009) - American Marketing Association
*ASAC Outstanding Reviewer Award (2008) - Admin. Sciences Association of Canada
bottom of page